Visual Studio 2005 or higher

JohnM

Programming Experience
1-3
Real Quick. I am a novice so I think Visual Studio 2005 is a good start? I seen a price for the standard edition for $87. Is this possible? If Not where can I buy it and what is a reasi\onable price. Thank you John M

2005 is pretty old stuff, but even so, $87.00 seems way too cheap to me.

Are you certain it is a legal, legitimate copy that is being offered.

The Express versions are free is you wanted to go that route.

Real Quick. I am a novice so I think Visual Studio 2005 is a good start? I seen a price for the standard edition for $87. Is this possible? If Not where can I buy it and what is a reasi\onable price. Thank you John M
I would look into getting VS 2008 if you can, or if you don't mind waiting another 6 to 8 months VS 2010 should be releasing and you could get that.

Thank you

This is going to sound stupid to you... but the Visual Studio I am currently using is the student ed. of Visual Studio 2003. I know its bad. BUT I am created some good apps on it. Would I be able to import them into VS 2008 without alot corrections/changes?

Thank you

John M

This is going to sound stupid to you... but the Visual Studio I am currently using is the student ed. of Visual Studio 2003. I know its bad. BUT I am created some good apps on it. Would I be able to import them into VS 2008 without alot corrections/changes?

Thank you

John M
A stupid question is one that never gets asked...

Going from VS 2002, 2003, 2005 to VS 2008 is as easy as opening the *.sln file in VS 2008 and the upgrade wizard kicks in. That being said, I would make a copy of the project and upgrade the project, that way if something goes wrong or whatever, you're only working on a copy.

If you're running the student version of 2003, can you get the student version of 2008? I believe all you need to do that is a valid student email you@someschool.edu.