Table of Checkboxes

MyForumID

Programming Experience
Beginner
Table of Checkboxes [RESOLVED]

Hello,

I am new to VB.Net and have a program in Excel VBA that I want to convert. I currently don't have any forms and just use the spreadsheet to get all the option inputs.

I was hoping someone could please explain how to make a table of checkboxes that can be addressed by row and column rather than manually addressing over 150 different boxes. I would also like to have header boxes for each row and column that will automatically fill in the appropriate row/column.

I tried learning about datagrids but every explanation I've seen has had these tied in to databases, which I'm not using. Is what I'd like to do possible or is the pain a necessary evil?

Thank you very much in advance.

Last edited:
what would be the purposes ive made a table of 900 checkboxes on a program i made.... Describe the commands of them and exactly what your talking about and i can give some pointers

You could create a UserControl that did the work for you. You could give it a constructor that took a row and column count and created all the desired CheckBoxes and then allowed you to index them by row and column.

Thank you for your replies.

{IP}Gil-Galad:

The table is a table of options that gives a user option to do something for one total vs another total. So all I need from that table is a simple true/false that can be addressed by it's table location. I'd like them to be toggled by the row and column as well.

The second table I'll be making will be the same total vs total scenario but will need 3 different options so will likely be better served with a table of drop boxes that could also be toggled by row/column.

jmcilhinney:

Is this hard to do? How would one address the boxes if they aren't being addressed by name? Does this mean you can have an array of boxes?