Resolved Arrays with Option Strict On

Gorkfu

Programming Experience
3-5
I am new to VB.net, I've only been messing with it for a few weeks. However I'm not new to coding, been an avid php coder for the last few years. Anyways on to my issue. :p

I found some code written for VB6 for extracting text within tags. I took it and modified it for VB.net, not much was needed to be modified. I ended up with the following code.

VB.NET:
    Public Function ExtractIt(ByVal TextIN As String, Optional ByVal StartTag As String = " ", Optional ByVal EndTag As String = " ") As String
        On Error GoTo LocalError

Dim lArray As Object
        ExtractIt = ""
        lArray = Split(TextIN, StartTag)
        If IsArray(lArray) Then
            ExtractIt = lArray(1)
            lArray = Split(ExtractIt, EndTag)
            If IsArray(lArray) Then
                ExtractIt = lArray(0)
            Else
                ExtractIt = ""
            End If
        End If
        Exit Function

LocalError:
        ExtractIt = "Didn't Work!"
    End Function
The code works fine if I have the strict option off, however I'm in the habit of leaving it on and want to keep that habit. :)

With option strict on I get an error, "Option Strict On disallows late binding." If I understand correctly it means I can't bind an array or part of an array to a variable with option strict on.

Error shows up on these lines:
ExtractIt = lArray(1)
ExtractIt = lArray(0)

How do i change the arrays to work properly with "Option Strict On"?

Original code can be found here:
Extract Text Within Tags

Last edited:
Hello.

Try this instead. Maybe the error occured 'cause you defined lArray as Object instead as String.

VB.NET:
    Public Function ExtractIt(ByVal TextIN As String, Optional ByVal StartTag As String = " ", Optional ByVal EndTag As String = " ") As String
        Try
            Dim lArray As String() = Split(TextIN, StartTag)
            ' ??? ExtractIt = ""

If IsArray(lArray) Then