Vs 2003 to 2005 SelectCommand Difference

jdavis2

Programming Experience
Beginner
Hello all!

First let me get this on the table, I am pretty new to visual studio 2005 and programming in general so please excuse my.... ignorance at times :)

Anyway I have a pretty general question: I am working from a school book that was based in visual studio 2003, it is asking us to pass a sql statement to a data adapter when a button is clicked. Ok simple enough...

***Little info, basically on the form design screen at the bottom I have the data adapter and dataset components added.***

However in 2003 the specific line of code would be something like

DaDBName.SelectCommand.CommandText = "Select * From .... ect..

However in 2005 there is no such property anymore. Now I did do a ton of looking around and came up with a way to completely setup a adapter and dataset through code. This works fine, but my question is : In 2003 you just drag the database table onto the form and it sets up all the connection strings ect for you, then in code to manipulate these components with a few lines of code. Is this just not how it works in 2005? or am I missing something pretty basic here.

Thanks in advance to any help!

-Jason

You are indeed missing something basic: DataAdapter is still in 2005 but it is supplanted by a component called a TableAdapter :)

In short, in 2005 you will create a dataset, then drag tables into it, from the server explorer. The IDE creates a DataTable and a TableAdapter, and you can tune the SQL that is used for the basic fill - i.e. whatever is the Select Command of the table adapter, is used to derive the schema of the data table. The tableAdapter houses ALL queries that relate to that data table, and it can hold multiple Select, update, insert and deletes for you to call etc