Question Using KeyDown event

Lance Turbo

Programming Experience
Beginner
Hi,

First up, this is my first post and so a big "Gday" to everyone.

My question is,

I'm using the key down event to capture arrow presses to move shapes around a form. However I have push buttons on the form as well. The arrow keys simply move focus from push button to push button before reaching the picture boxes when I can capture them to move my shape. Is there anyway I can stop the arrow keys moving focus to the push buttons?

Thanks in Advance

Hi,

I would normally always defer to jcmilhinney's expertise, including his blog examples, but in this case I would suggest that his blog does not accommodate the issue you are having.

I am still a relative novice to .NET and if I were to answer your question directly I would have typically suggested that you set the Forms KeyPreview propetry to True and then test for the Up or Down Arrow Key in the KeyDown event of the Form and then code what you need to do from there.

However, after testing this before I posted earlier today, I found that as long as a Button control has the Focus then the PreviewKeyDown, KeyDown and KeyPress evants are all IGNORED?

After a quick search on the NET I found that the solution was to override the ProcessCmdKey function. Here is a quick example based on what you are wanting to do:-

VB.NET:
Protected Overrides Function ProcessCmdKey(ByRef Message As Message, ByVal keyData As Keys) As Boolean
  If keyData = Keys.Down OrElse keyData = Keys.Up Then
    Select Case keyData
      Case Keys.Down
        PictureBox1.Top += 10
      Case Keys.Up
        PictureBox1.Top -= 10
    End Select
    Return True
  Else
    Return False
  End If
End Function