Type.GetType does not work in VB.NET compared to C#

enggr

Programming Experience
5-10
Friends,

I am an experienced C# programmer who is working on a VB.NET project now. I am writing different methods covering the following functionalities

1) Take a datareader as input and return an arraylist of class object

2) Take an xmlnode (received from a webservice) as input and return an arraylist of class object.

The methods are generic methods which take datareader/xmlnode as first parameter and classname (string) as the second parameter. This way it will work trivially.

The schema of class object matches with the input (datareader or xmlnode)

In C# I used to do this by using reflection and Type.GetType(). But the Type.GetType() is not working in VB.NET. Its returning "Nothing". I made sure that the namespace/class names are spelled properly. I even tested the same code in C# and it works like a charm. Only in VB.net it does not work.

The .vb file is created inside the App_Code folder of the web application.

I read other posts and removed the temporary asp.net files and stuff but didn't help

Any help will be greatly appreciated

C# code

Type type_ClassName = Type.GetType(className); //Works like a charm

VB.NET code

Dim oType As Type = Type.GetType("JEB.DocumentIdsCaseNumbers") // Does not work [:(]

I used Immediate window on debug mode for both vb.net and c# and confirmed that it does not work in vb.net

Please help me to get the GetType() working in VB.NET

Try:

Dim typ as Type = System.Type.GetType("System.String")

Does it work? If yes, then it might be that the type youre trying to retrieve isnt loaded or applicable/findable in the scope youre trying to retrieve it in. Are you able to create an instance of the class immediately after the type:

VB.NET:
Dim oType As Type = Type.GetType("JEB.DocumentIdsCaseNumbers") 
Dim x as New JEB.DocumentIdsCaseNumbers

Or does it complain it cant find the class?