Retrieving multiple ID's from a query

Ugluth

Programming Experience
Beginner
Hello there, I'm rather new to vb.net and also to the forum. I'm developing an application connecting to an access database. My project has 3 tables, one named students, one classes and one student_class. The first 2 keep information on students and classes respectively. The third one has only 3 fields, one for a registration id, one for a student id and one for a class id. There are foreign key relationships between them from the database.

What i want to do is have a combo box which will be displaying the list of available classes and once the user chooses the class he wants and presses the button i want the information of the students enrolled in that class to show up on a data grid. I've created the combo box showing all the classes, and i also have taken the id of the class that the user wants to display.

What i want to do now is get all the id's from the student_class table that match the id selected on the combo box and retrieve all the student id's that are on the same record with that id on the student_class table, and after wards i want to display some data of those students enrolled in the specified class and show their data on the data grid.

I'm using visual studio 2010 running on windows xp sp2 and using an access database with ending .mdb i'm not really sure which version it is, but its not the .accdb that access 2007 and onwards save it to.

Hope this post made some sense and thank you in advance. If you need any more information please do ask.

Thank you very much for your quick reply kulrom and good to find you on the forums :)

I'm posting a jpg file of my database relationships.
dbview.jpg

Looking forward to your answer and thank you very much again :)

Try this:

VB.NET:
SELECT 
Class.Class_ID, Class.Class_Name, Class.Class_Duration, Class.Teacher, Stud.Student_ID, Stud.FirstName, Stud.SurName
FROM (Student_Class AS Stc