query regarding parameters(in crystal reports)

srivalli

Well-known member
Joined
May 4, 2005
Messages
189
Programming Experience
Beginner
i have one table called "employee"
i want to display the details of the employees whose job position is "sales representative"
only.
i am trying using parameters fields but i am getting all the employees irrespective of my selection.
so plsss suggest what is the code
 

kulrom

Well-known member
Joined
May 10, 2005
Messages
2,854
Location
Republic of Macedonia
Programming Experience
10+
what is the name of the field that holds this job positions?
Ok let me assume for a while. :) i.e. it's named "Positions" .... 1st, you should make a new parameter with sucha name (@Positions) ... while you load the reports add a value to parameter ...

PHP:
 {...} 
document.SetParameterValue("Positions", "sales_representative")
{...}

Cheers ;)
 

srivalli

Well-known member
Joined
May 4, 2005
Messages
189
Programming Experience
Beginner
query in crystal reports

the code u gave is generating error stating that
"undefined function "setparametervalue" .

i want the query in crystal reports 10
i need to whether i need to write in "parameter field" or in "sqlexpressionfield"
and which formula i need to use.
thank u
kulrom said:
what is the name of the field that holds this job positions?
Ok let me assume for a while. :) i.e. it's named "Positions" .... 1st, you should make a new parameter with sucha name (@Positions) ... while you load the reports add a value to parameter ...

PHP:
 {...} 
document.SetParameterValue("Positions", "sales_representative")
{...}

Cheers ;)
 

angitapalli

Member
Joined
Mar 29, 2005
Messages
7
Programming Experience
1-3
Hi,
since you are trying to retreive records with specific value, I think you have to use RecordSelectionFormula. see example below:

rpt.RecordSelectionFormula = "{tbl_UC142_4.UC142_4_ContributionYear}=" & cboYears_P4.Text & " AND {tbl_A_Assignments.A_AssignmentID}=" & gintAsgnID


give the tablename.fieldname = "sales representative"


Hope this helps.



 

yousuf42

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 12, 2006
Messages
101
Programming Experience
1-3
Message' is not a member of 'exception

Hi,

Thanks for your sample project code. But when I run this project following errors appears in build error. and there is underline in ex (ie: catch ex as exception).

'Catch' cannot catch type 'exception' because it is not 'System.Exception' or a class that inherits from 'System.Exception'.

'Message' is not a member of 'exception'

Also the report viewer displays db log in diologue box.


Do you have solution to that?

Thanks
 

DavidT_macktool

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 21, 2004
Messages
502
Location
Indiana
Programming Experience
3-5
Dim SalesRep As New CrystalReport1
Dim Position as String = "sales representative"
SalesRep.SetParameterValue("Position", Position)
CrystalReportViewer1.ReportSource = SalesRep
CrystalReportViewer1.Refresh()


In the report you have a string parameter named "Position" and in the record selection formula you would have:

{DatasetName.FieldName} = {?Position}
 
Top Bottom