Overall problems with Databases (connection) in .net

e.brinkman

Programming Experience
Beginner
hi,

im a beginning programmer in vb6 and i want to make the step to .net. At my job i have made a couple of apps where i needed connections to databases. This wasn't any problem. I not only needed the connection i had to update also. So i am formiliair with recordsets etc. Now i want to make the step to .net.
I know how to make a connection, there is a wizard to do that. I also made a connection trough code. So thats not the problem. In VB6 i could Use Recordset. And in .NEt u have dataset, datatable, oledbcommand etc etc. Can anyone tell me how to make a normal connection with a database. Not only a connection, but also i need to update, edit, delete etc. Which of the things named above do i need to get the same results as i did with the recordset within vb6.

Also i want to display an Image in a ImgEdit1 box (KODAK). It are TIFF images so the picturebox doesnt work. The Images are in multiple directories. In the database there is a field where al the directories are in.

So to make a long story short, I want to display an Image from a Path-field in an Access 2003 database.

I know, for some of you die-hard .net programmers this is a piece of cake. I hope someone can help me, so i can be a die-hard programmer in a few yrs too.

And if you need more info regarding my probs, just email me.

greetingz,,
Emiel Brinkman
Netherlands.

Developing apps in VB.net

Hi,

There are differences between vb6 and .Net. You should basically cocentrate on disconnected architecture for accessing the data and updating the data through dataadapters.

Developing Client/Server apps are very easy. Split the classes based on the standard tiers.

Refer good books and tutorials.

Regards
bhar
knowledge is power
http://www.vkinfotek.com

While I believe noone would type a full response regarding ADO.NET and the way it works compared to ADO 2.x I can give you a small brief.