New around here

kurt69

Programming Experience
Beginner
Hi everyone I'm new to vbdotnetforums.com and this is my first post in fact. I'm very much a beginner, I've made one fully finished program and attempted a multi user chat program (in VB.NET).

I'm designing a game in vb.net and I know I wont be able to do it all as I'm not skilled enough yet so I have come here for when I need help in the future.

Just for your information I'm developing a side fighting game where you begin training your character and developing him how you want using stats, choosing your skills/spells and etc, then you take him into a LAN or online game and battle co-operatively or versus. My game is inspired by Little Fighter 2 by Marti and Starsky Wong (www.lf2.net).

That's pretty much it, thanks.

That sounds like a very ambitious project. Could we get a preview when you get near to having a working model?? Hope i'm not being cheeky. Just sounds like a cool project. Much more interesting that doing database stuff, like what i do all day!!!!!

Yeah I'm determined with this project thats why I've came here.. honestly I'm very new to programming and I'm still in high school so I will need help lol. But as for the preview definitely. Doing database stuff sounds like fun... (cough).

At the moment I'm just designing the forms (graphic wise). Cya.

Also new around here

Just thought I would say Hi.

Have done a good bit of work in VB 6, but just getting switched over to .NET. Should be an interesting ride.

I started when a client of the company I worked for at the time needed someone to take over development/maintenance of a program they developed. The original developer had died suddenly, so I had to learn VB6 in a hurry. I would like to port the program to .NET at some point (I still maintain the program though I have changed jobs). I am also working on a gradebook/class information program (since I am now a community college instructor).