Dieing on Website Project

RayWind

Programming Experience
Beginner
Hello Everyone,
I come to you all in quite a panicked state. I have a massive(in my eyes) project due in a month and a half and I've spent the last month and a half with about 40-50 hours per week working on this but I'm not getting anything actually developed and I'm pretty bad at it so far. I'm a student and I've learned a lot about theory in the past two years, but not a lot of actual development experience thus far. I've written the hello world program in 10 different languages, that's about it. This has illustrated just how far I still have to go to be a real developer.

Project Overview: What we(I say we, but...) are building is a sort of game site on top of a social site. The actual design that we have so far is a few games we're developing (think dice, cards, lottery, "stock market") that simply play on the users "Game Page". We're using vb.net 4.0

Modules I'm attempting to build:
  • Page aware of user ID therefor can print simple things like "Point" amount, and some other lifetime stats
  • a chatbox on the page that can display what any other user on the system types into it
  • an NPC chat box that simply displays strings talking to the user dependant upon actions in the game/point totals/general performance
  • A "achievement" bar that shows feedback as to current players "life style"