namespace v. module, events v. calling subs?

JoeBobBriggs

Programming Experience
10+
Hi,

I'm new to VB, and to VB.NET in particular. My background in VC++ 6.0 is fairly extensive, but several topics just weren't needed on the jobs that I've held and I haven't learned about them too much, so please forgive my ignorance. I've made a list (checkin' it twice) of areas where I'd like to flesh things out a bit more, and .NET and VB are on that list.

I'm a little confused on the differences between a module (module statement) and namespaces. It used to be that a 'module' was loosely defined. Namespaces seem to be just a method of defining a code block, for scope and/or resolving name clashes and what not. Then what is a module for? Are there nesting rules such as "Modules can contain several namespaces but namespaces cannot contain several modules" or anything like that? An overview of these two paradigms, e.g. contrast and compare, would be very helpful ...thanks in advance!

Secondly, events are not something that I've dealt with much in the past ...same with Interfaces. It seems to me that an exposed interface isn't much different than an exposed public function (etc) in a class definition. Both facilitate encapsulation, so what gives? And how is raising an event in your code any different from just calling the procedure or function that the raised event would call anyway?

Signed,
Cornfused (that's me, Brian)

Its a bit late here so i'll try to tackle the first couple for you...