How to discover web services dynamically?

ProgMan

Programming Experience
3-5
Hi everybody :)

I have just started looking into web services using Visual Studio 2005. I can create and consume a simple web service using VB.Net. Now I'm trying to create webservices like for an online store where it has branches in different locations and each location has their own services. So, for example, if I want to know the stock level of a particular item, it should check webservice1 (location1), then webservice2 (location2) etc.

So far I've found that it has something to do with the .vsdisco but I'm not sure how exactly to do the task.

Can anyone help me out on this ? I tried to search on the net without much success :(

N.B. Please note that I'm pretty new in the arena so would be grateful if someone provides with some example codes I can play with.

Thank you.

You want to point an existing design-time generated proxy to a different URL? Just create a new instance of the web service proxy class and change the .Url property. You are familiar with the 'localhost' proxy namespace and understand this example:
VB.NET:
Dim ws As New localhost.Webservice
ws.Url = "http://newaddress.asmx"
Dim return As localhost.CustomType = ws.getReturn()
Maybe you're interested in this article that explains some basic terms: Introduction to .NET Web Services

Thanks JohnH for your reply.

Erm...as I said I'm very new to this...:eek:

I used Visual Studio 2005 to create a .net web service and it did it straight away. So, I didn't understand what was happening behind the scene. I've read a couple of articals where it explains about proxy stubs but I can't relate (see) those when using VB 2005. For example I can only see the following codes that's automaticlly generated-

VB.NET:
Imports System.Web
Imports System.Web.Services
Imports System.Web.Services.Protocols

<WebService(Namespace:="http://tempuri.org/")> _
<WebServiceBinding(ConformsTo:=WsiProfiles.BasicProfile1_1)> _