Getting object as return value of XML web service

nightowl

Programming Experience
Beginner
Hello. I'm new to web services. I'm trying to test my web service. It both accepts and returns an XML attribute type, and I'm looking for the best way to test it by giving it data, and viewing the results.

I did the introductory 'Hello World' web service and it was easy to test because it simply returns test. But I'm returning an OBJECT and I'm clueless. Please enlighten me!

Here's the WebMethod:

<WebMethod()> _
Public Overridable Function EmployeeValidation(<System.Xml.Serialization.XmlElementAttribute("EmployeeValidation-Request", [Namespace]:="CATSIVRSchema.xsd")> ByVal employeeValidationRequest As EmployeeValidationREQ) As <System.Xml.Serialization.XmlElementAttribute("EmployeeValidation-Response", [Namespace]:="CATSIVRSchema.xsd")> EmployeeValidationRESP Implements ICATSIVRServicePort.EmployeeValidation

End Function

Here's the EmployeeValidation-Request entries from the XSD:

</xs:element>
<xs:element name="EmployeeValidation-Request" type="EmployeeValidation-REQ">
<!-- element that instantiates the request for EmployeeValidation -->
</xs:element>

<xs:complexType name="EmployeeValidation-REQ">
<!-- Complex Type that contains request information for EmployeeValidation -->
<xs:sequence>
<xs:element name="EmployeeValidation-DataIn" type="EmployeeValidation-DataIn" />
</xs:sequence>
</xs:complexType>

<xs:complexType name="EmployeeValidation-DataIn">
<!-- Complex Type that contains all information required for executing the CATS IMS Call EmployeeValidation -->
<xs:sequence>
<xs:element name="EmployeeValidation-TransactionCode" type="TransactionCode" />
<xs:element name="EmployeeValidation-AirlineCode" type="AirlineCode" />
<xs:element name="EmployeeValidation-EmployeeNumber" type="EmployeeNumber" />
<xs:element name="EmployeeValidation-PinNumber" type="PinNumber" />
<xs:element name="EmployeeValidation-ErrorCode" type="ErrorCode" />