Question XSD.exe generate class - choice element problem. please help

Brungle

Programming Experience
Beginner
Hi,

I've been stuck on this for weeks now, I'm an inexperienced developer and unfortunately I've been landed with a large system that integrates with multiple web services.

A third pary we connect to has updated their xml schema and I've subsequently got an new XSD with various field changes. Unfortunately they have added a new choice element which I'm having great difficulty with. (their support team only develops in java so cant assist me)

schema code:
VB.NET:
- <xs:complexType name="Q1LandChargesBankruptcySearchType">
- <xs:annotation>
  <xs:documentation>Choice of Private Individual search or Complex Name search</xs:documentation> 
  </xs:annotation>
- <xs:sequence>
- <xs:choice>
  <xs:element name="BankruptcySearchPrivateIndividual" type="Q1BankruptcySearchPrivateIndividualType" /> 
  <xs:element name="BankruptcySearchComplexName" type="Q1BankruptcySearchComplexNameType" /> 
  </xs:choice>

Basically I've used the xsd.exe to generate a vb.net class which seems to be fine for the majority of fields except the choice element, the code generated is as below:

VB.NET:
        <System.Xml.Serialization.XmlElementAttribute("BankruptcySearchComplexName", GetType(Q1BankruptcySearchComplexNameType)), _
         System.Xml.Serialization.XmlElementAttribute("BankruptcySearchPrivateIndividual", GetType(Q1BankruptcySearchPrivateIndividualType))> _
        Public Property Item() As Object
            Get
                Return Me.itemField
            End Get
            Set(ByVal value As Object)
                Me.itemField = Value
            End Set
        End Property

it seems like a generic Item object? how can I manually change the generated code so it lets me select 'Q1BankruptcySearchComplexNameType' or 'Q1BankruptcySearchPrivateIndividual'.