combobox and datagrid

minn

Programming Experience
Beginner
Hi,

I have a combo-box called vendor, with items such as microsoft, adobe, macromedia etc etc.

When i select a vendor from the list i want to see records in the software table for only the selected vendor in a datagrid format.

For example, I select Microsoft, then in my datagrid should appear all software details for microsoft software.

Please note that the vendors and software table are linked via the key VendorID which is a primary key in the vendors table and foreign key in the software table.

Please can someone help me get started as i am new to all of this!!!!

need a bit more info. Is VendorID literally "Microsoft", "Adobe"

or do you have VendorName=Microsoft, VendorID=1 etc?

i will write this advice as if it is the latter:

So here's it in brief:
Use server explorer to drop vendor and product tables onto a dataset designer, hopefully you also have a table that decodes your ID 1 into "Microsoft" too (the lookup table) - drop that on the designer

draw the relationship between the tables from parent to child

you now have 3 data tables and a relation. you dont need to relate the lookup table

make a new windows form (Form1) and open the data sources window (data menu i think)

in the DS window find the vendor table and click it. the name turns into a combo box, so drop it down and choose details, not grid

expand it and youll see all the column names undernetah. in the same way as you just did, change the VendorID to a combobox

now drop the vendor table on the form

many controls appear, and our vendor id is a combobox

with this control we change the datasource to be the lookup table, the displaymember to be the nice word Microsoft (column name vendorname) and the valuemember to be the VendorID (1)