Writing data to a table

rlegg369

Programming Experience
10+
Hi, I'm new to database programming and I seem to be doing something wrong.
I have an application program where I use a datetimepicker to choose a date. I convert the selected date to a string, and then attempt to write it to one of the tables in my database. The table(weekEnding) has only two fields, the key field(WEID), and a string field(WeekEnding)

Here is the code I'm using:

Private Sub AcceptDateBtn_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles AcceptDateBtn.Click
Dim SQLString As String = "Insert INTO WeekEnding(WeekEnding) VALUES(SelectedWeekEnding)"
Dim conn As New SqlConnection("Data Source=.\SQLEXPRESS;AttachDbFilename=|DataDirectory|\Timesheet.mdf;Integrated Security=True;User Instance=True")
Dim cmd As New SqlCommand()
Dim SelectedWeekEnding As String

cmd.Connection = conn
cmd.CommandType = Data.CommandType.Text
cmd.CommandText = SQLString

SelectedWeekEnding = DateTimePicker1.Text.ToString

cmd.Connection.Open()
cmd.ExecuteNonQuery()
cmd.Connection.Close()

WeekEndingGrpBox.Visible = False
End Sub

When it comes to the ExecuteNonQuery I get the following exception

The name "SelectedWeekEnding" is not permitted in this context. Valid expressions are constants, constant expressions, and (in some contexts) variables. Column names are not permitted.

Can someone please explain what I'm doing wrong or how to get the string written into the table?

You would be better off adding a parameter to your command object and passing the value there. The variable you are using is not being seen while being part of the string you have created.

That helped a little, but new problem now...

I changed the code as follows:

Private Sub AcceptDateBtn_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles AcceptDateBtn.Click
Dim SQLString As String = String.Format("Insert INTO WeekEnding(WeekEnding) VALUES({0})", SelectedWeekEnding)