Variable scope within classes

tomhosking

Programming Experience
1-3
I have a form and a class module, with basic controls for a log text box. When Button1 is clicked, the text in txtIn should be added to txtLogBox. The class module contains an overall class, and a
errorhandler class. I want the errorhandler class to be a subset of the overall class, and also to be able to "see" the form like the overall class can. I tried causing the sub class to inherit the overall one, but presumably that just sends it into an endless loop,
since each one will then create the other.

Effectively, I want to create objects within a class that can use variables from the parent, such as a form pointer.

Any help on this matter would be much appreciated!

I'm afraid that your post doesn't make much sense. Your terminology is not standard so it is difficult to determine exactly what the relationships are. Can you explain again more clearly?

Sorry about that, Im still very new to VB, having come from languages like PHP/Perl.

My form code looks like this:
VB.NET:
[/size]
[size=1]Public [color=#0000ff]Class[/color] Form1[/size]

[size=1][color=#0000ff]Inherits[/color] System.Windows.Forms.Form[/size]

[size=1][color=#0000ff]Public[/color] thisSession [color=#0000ff]As[/color] [color=#0000ff]New[/color] clsSession[/size]

[size=1][color=#0000ff]Public[/color] temForm1 [color=#0000ff]As[/color] Form1[/size]

[size=1][color=#0000ff]Public[/color] [color=#0000ff]Sub[/color] Form1_Load([color=#0000ff]ByVal[/color] sender [color=#0000ff]As[/color] System.Object, [color=#0000ff]ByVal[/color] e [color=#0000ff]As[/color] System.EventArgs) [color=#0000ff]Handles[/color] [color=#0000ff]MyBase[/color].Load[/size]

[size=1]thisSession.showform([color=#0000ff]Me[/color])[/size]

[size=1][color=#0000ff]End[/color] [color=#0000ff]Sub