Syntax for grabbing a variable from a dataset once the correct row is found.

UdiHrant

Programming Experience
10+
Yes - Im fairly new to VB.NET and I'm still struiggling with the syntax.

Below you will see code where I succesfully 'find' a row in my table of a dataset. Next I simply want to grab the string value one column (CUR_STUD_DIV).

'This line DOES find the row I want...
foundrow = TmsEPrdDataSet.Tables("Student_Master").Rows.Find(ID_NUM)
' This line produces the error below. AM I doing something wrong with the syntax here?
CUR_STUD_DIV = TmsEPrdDataSet.Tables("Student_Master").Rows(foundrow).Item("CUR_STUD_DIV")
'The error I get is : "Conversion from type 'STUDENT_MASTERRow' to type 'Integer' is not valid."
'Yes I have declared CUR_STUD_DIV as a string.

Thanks for any help here.

Also - I would appreciate any book suggestions you may have. So far any books I have picked up are either too advanced or too simple and only cover how to drag controls onto forms! In particular I am a VB6 guy trying to make the jump to .NET.

You get the error because 'foundrow' is actually a row, not the index of a row. In this code:
VB.NET:
CUR_STUD_DIV = [B][U]TmsEPrdDataSet.Tables("Student_Master").Rows(found row)[/U][/B].Item("CUR_STUD_DIV")
the highlighted section getting a row by index, but you already have the row and you're trying to use that as an index to find the row that you've already got. If you want to get a field by column name from the row you've found then use the row you've found, not one that you try to get by an index that you don;t have:
VB.NET:
CUR_STUD_DIV = foundrow.Item("CUR_STUD_DIV")