SerialPort Question

Cliff

Programming Experience
3-5
Hello everyone , I hope someone can help me with my problem. I’m having a problem with a serial port. I’ve connected a balance to my laptop and I want to get the data from the balance on my computer. So when I weigh something it should be possible to see the weight on my screen.
First off all I’m not very experienced with this matter. So I’m hoping for your help on this.

Here is my code , the settings are correct , I’ve got those from the supplier itself.
My question is, how can I call the mySerialPort_Datareceived method in the Form_Load method and will it work ? thanks for helping me out !

Public Class Form
'SerialPort object creation
WithEvents mySerialPort As New IO.Ports.SerialPort

Private Sub Form_Load(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles MyBase.Load

'setting the mySerialPort settings
With mySerialPort
.PortName = "COM1"
.BaudRate = 9600
.Parity = IO.Ports.Parity.Even
.DataBits = 7
.StopBits = IO.Ports.StopBits.One
End With

'method to get the get the stream from the balance
Private Sub mySerialPort_DataReceived(ByVal sender As Object, ByVal e As System.IO.Ports.SerialDataReceivedEventArgs)
Console.Write(mySerialPort.ReadExisting)
End Sub

Public Sub New()
' This call is required by the Windows Form Designer.
InitializeComponent()

' Add any initialization after the InitializeComponent() call.
AddHandler mySerialPort.DataReceived, AddressOfmySerialPort_DataReceived

End Sub

Kind Regards
Depreytere Cliff
POVLT @ Belgium

Thank you for the interesting site , but i've read it already and it could not help me to get my code running because there is no information about the SerialPort Class which I use in VB.NET

Cliff, you don't call an event handler, you 'start' the object that holds the event. If and when that object raises the event, your subscription to the objects event through the event handler will trigger.