Sending images using a NetworkStream

ozonic

Programming Experience
Beginner
I am new to VB.NET and I have a bit of a problem. I've got a Client/Server program using the TcpClient and TcpListener. I am able to send strings from the Client to the Server using a NetworkStream and converting the strings from text to bytes using the following instructions:

'Convert string to bytes
Dim Buffer As [Byte]() = System.Text.Encoding.ASCII.GetBytes("String to send")

'Send contents of buffer (bytes)
NetworkStream.Write(Buffer, 0, Buffer.Length)

My question is: How can I possibly send an image from the client (TcpClient) to the server (TcpListener)? Would I have to convert the image into bytes in the same way as I've done with the strings, and if so how do I do that? If that's not possible, do you have any other suggestions?

I would greately appreciate any ideas.

Well, in case you didn't understand,
A) you need multiple connections
B) and if you want anything to happen at the same time this have to be done with asynchronous threading.
These are the two requirements.

Multiple Connections

So John, when you say I need multiple connections, is this what you mean on the client side? Sorry I know it can be simple yet so difficult.

Requirement A

VB.NET:
[SIZE=2][COLOR=#0000ff]Dim[/COLOR][/SIZE][SIZE=2] ip [/SIZE][SIZE=2][COLOR=#0000ff]As[/COLOR][/SIZE][SIZE=2] Net.IPAddress = Net.IPAddress.Parse([/SIZE][SIZE=2][COLOR=#a31515]"172.0.0.1"[/COLOR][/SIZE][SIZE=2])[/SIZE]
[SIZE=2]tcp = [/SIZE][SIZE=2][COLOR=#0000ff]New[/COLOR][/SIZE][SIZE=2] Net.Sockets.TcpClient[/SIZE]
[SIZE=2]tcp.Connect(ip, 5000)[/SIZE]
[SIZE=2]ns = tcp.GetStream[/SIZE]
[SIZE=2]tcp2.Connect(ip, 5000)[/SIZE]
[SIZE=2]ns2 = tcp2.GetStream[/SIZE]

Requirement B

So asynchronous threading would be using the example that you posted in post #15?

Last edited: