Search difficulties

triplemaya

Programming Experience
Beginner
Hi. I am trying to solve a problem in some code I have inherited, but when I search for a string in VS 2005 express, I cannot find it. I presume that the string is in the project somewhere, because it is displayed in an error message. The string is "Error on load file". I am pretty sure this is not a standard VB error dialog, so it must be part of my app. The search facility in VS can't find it. I have had this problem before, I find it severely difficult in trying to program in this environment with someone else's code when I can't search for a string I am looking for.

There are a lot of files in this project, and reading them all for a single string is going to take a lot of time. And I might miss it with fatigue! There must be a way to solve this problem, would someone please tell me how to proceed with this. I have never worked with a system of this nature before, all my programming was done in C/UNIX, so I am used to being able to search files with an ordinary search facility, using operating system tools if necessary, but the vb files aren't readable. Not by microsoft os anyway.

Who knows where the line could come from. You can check to see if
its found in any files associated with the directory where your project
is stored.

Run your dos shell, change directory to where you project is stored,

and for each directory there, issue the following dos shell command:

Dir /N "Error on load file" *.*

The file name and line that the string was found in will be printed.

Thanks, but it doesn't work!

Thank you very much for your reply, but when I try it it reports finding the string in about twenty files, and in large nubmers! And that whole string is not present in the files I chekced. I looked all through! I think it must be searching for any of those words.