publishing a project from local to live webserver?

tito_puente41

Programming Experience
Beginner
this may sound really stupid to some, but i'm VERY NEW to vb.net

anyways, i have a project that i've been building on my local computer, and now want to transfer it to the live environment for further testing, but, i dont know how to do this... i tried just copying the files over, but it doesn't work...

whats the procedure for this? i can't find anything in my reference material

thanks!

OK, you need asp.net hosting, and ftp access. First you have to build project and then, using ftp access you can trasfer yours files in asp.net web server and call them.

Dejan,

Thanks for the reply... the webserver has asp.net framework, and ftp access, however, when i try to copy project... i get an error:

HTTP/1.1 400 Bad Request

and when I just copy the folder onto the server, I get a runtime error

Runtime Error

[font=Arial, Helvetica, Geneva, SunSans-Regular, sans-serif]Description: An application error occurred on the server. The current custom error settings for this application prevent the details of the application error from being viewed remotely (for security reasons). It could, however, be viewed by browsers running on the local server machine.

Details: To enable the details of this specific error message to be viewable on remote machines, please create a <customErrors> tag within a "web.config" configuration file located in the root directory of the current web application. This <customErrors> tag should then have its "mode" attribute set to "Off".

<!-- Web.Config Configuration File --><configuration> <system.web> <customErrors mode="Off"/> </system.web></configuration>
Notes: The current error page you are seeing can be replaced by a custom error page by modifying the "defaultRedirect" attribute of the application's <customErrors> configuration tag to point to a custom error page URL.