Naming for Namespace, Class, and Variables

subaru_sti

Programming Experience
Beginner
Hello.

I'm new to OOP and am racking my brain over what to name stuff... I have read a lot of different articles on standards and when to use nouns and different case, etc... I'm stumped when it comes to a real world example. In the code below, the namespace is called "Navigation" which I think is correct. Then I have a class called "Heading", which by definition is the direction a person/vehicle is truly pointing towards. I think that is also named correctly. In the code below, I have four things I have named: _WhatToName1, WhatToName2, WhatToName3, and WhatToName4.

The value that gets passed in and stored is a double between 0 and 360 -- essentially the degree value from a circle. For WhatToName3 and WhatToName4, I have seen a lot of places that just use "value" as the name. Is that standard?

VB.NET:
Namespace Navigation
    Public Class Heading
        Private _WhatToName1 As Double

Public Sub New(ByVal WhatToName3 As Double)
            Me.WhatToName2 = WhatToName3
        End Sub

Public Property WhatToName2() As Double
            Get
                Return _WhatToName1
            End Get
            Set(ByVal WhatToName4 As Double)
                _WhatToName1 = WhatToName4
            End Set
        End Property
    End Class
End Namespace

As I am just learning, I want to make sure that I start naming stuff correctly so that it can be easily reused and understood.

Thanks in advance for your help,

Stephen

Hello.

First question, are you developing a FLOSS application, Closed-Source Library (for resale) or a Closed-Source Application?

In the last case, I'd stick with naming convention YOU can live with...in the other two cases it is most important that the interface of the code is intuitive. In the first two cases make sure to use XML-Documentation.

VB.NET:
Navigation.Heading.Direction 'leads me to something what points into a direction