Question How To Dispose Existing Open Form & Open The Main Menu Form ?

mansoor.live

Programming Experience
5-10
hello experts i am new in vb.net and don't have too much experience .

i have a scenario that :

form 1 = main menu
form 2 = daily transactions

i am using mdi-application

i am on daily transaction form and i have home button, when i press this home button it automatically close current (daily transaction) form and open main menu form ..

how can i achieve this.

i tried this code but it throw exception.

VB.NET:
Function checkForm()

Dim fc As FormCollection = Application.OpenForms
        Dim FormFound As Boolean = False
        For Each frm As Form In fc
            If frm.Name = "main_Menu" Then
                frm.Focus()
                FormFound = True
            End If
            If frm.Name = "DailyTransactions" Then                
                FormFound = True
                frm.Dispose()
            End If
        Next
        If FormFound = False Then
            Dim f As New main_Menu()
            f.MdiParent = Me
            f.Show()
        End If

End Function

Help Would Be Appriciated.

So, this main menu for is also a an MDI child, correct? Presumably you only want one instance of it, so it makes sense to use the default instance. In that case, the code to open the main menu or activate it if it's already open and then close the current form would be:
main_Menu.MdiParent = Me.MdiParent
main_Menu.Show()
main_Menu.Activate()

Me.Close()
By the way, 'main_Menu' is a pretty dodgy name. What's wrong with MainMenu or MainMenuForm? Be consistent with naming, e.g. don't start some class names with upper case and some lower and use underscores in some and not others. Underscores are only useful if you are using a single case, e.g. main_menu or MAIN_MENU. If you're using Pascal casing then the upper-case characters indicate the start of the words so the underscores serve no useful purpose.