Hi. New here and have question.

System_Code

Programming Experience
1-3
Ok, I'm relatively new to VB.NET. I used to program in Visual Basic Script for applications (mainly with Microsoft Access) and .vbs files (which run with WinScript) before. I also do java pretty well. I just joined this bulitin board, and this is my first post. I type my code into notepad and use v3.5's vbc.exe to compile my code into executables. I was working in dos-like console applications (/t:exe) before, but now I want to focus on Windows form based applications (/t:winexe). Below is the code for my Hello World Program, on which I am having a problem I want to get resolved before continuing on to any other applications:
VB.NET:
Imports System.Windows.Forms
Module Form_Class
    Class Hello_World_Form
        Inherits Form
        Public Sub New()
            InitializeComponent()
        End Sub
        Private Sub InitializeComponent()
            Me.Text = "Hello World!"
            Me.Width = 400
            Me.Height = 500
        End Sub
    End Class
    Sub Main()
        Dim f As New Hello_World_Form
        f.Visible = True
    End Sub
End Module

It compiles fine. The problem: the form flashes on the screen for a fraction of a second, then disappears, the program stopping. Why is this happening? I'd really like to get this resolved. Thanks in advance!

Last edited by a moderator:
I had that problem too, and found the answer in a book somewhere awhile ago... Here is the code it used:

VB.NET:
Console.ReadLine

If you making a console application, that should work.

By the way, if you copied that directly out of your *.txt file, you have some spelling errors. i dont really know if thats important....I use VB 2008 Express Editions (free download from Microsoft, great IDE) so it takes care of most the code for me.

Last edited:
Sorry...

I'm trying to make a winexe. It dosen't work. By he way, thanks for telling me about the spelling errors.

Last edited: