help! working with sqlserver connection wizard in vbstudio 2010

securonic

Programming Experience
Beginner
Hi, i am very new to visual basic and have managed to grasp most of the basic operations of code manipulation. I am currently working with vbstudio 2010 and am having a little difficulty understanding what is done for you as part of the wizard set up of a sql server database conection.

i understand i can manually connect to a database through code ie(con = New SqlConnection("Server=(local)\SQLEXPRESS;Initial Catalog=MyDatabase;Integrated Security=SSPI") blah blah

The thing is, i can see that VB creates a connection string for you as part of the database wizard process so does it create and name an object variable with this connection data already specified??

Assuming this i can then just reference the conection object in my code right? i cannot seem to figure out if it has done this despite actually seeing the string in the connection properties of the server explorer.

I am probably just missing something simple in my nieve ignorance here but a pointer would really help from someone.

Thanks people

If youre making a new data connection in "Server Explorer" then no, it has not added anything to your project.

Add a new DataSet object
Either add a new tableadapter to this dataset, or drag a table out of Server Explorer onto the dataset

Now you can see:
A DataTable - a local reprepsatation of the remote table (IT IS NOT THE DATABASE TABLE ITSELF)
A TableAdapter - a device that pushes data between the local and the database

You can reference these in your project:
Dim ta as New MyDataSetTableAdapters.MyTableAdapter
Dim dt as MyDataSet.MyDataTable = ta.GetData()

Or you can do things like drag them ot of the Data Sources window, onto your form, and VS will set this code up for you

Read the DW4 link in my signature, section Creating a Simple Data Application..

Hi Cjard,