Question Having a hard time updating SQL table through tableadapter

cdognight

Programming Experience
5-10
This is my first attempt in .NET creating a form app and I'm having a little bit of difficulty grasping the concept of the DataSource/TableAdapter/Query/Fill/GetBy/etc. relationships.

I have a form with a bunch of textboxes and a couple of checkboxes that act as spec input to configure a product. The product type is selected with a combobox, "cmbProduct". I have a SQL table, "UserInputs", that I want to use to pre-fill the form with the specs that the user entered for the previous configuration of that product. The table will have a unique record for each user/product combination.

I have created a dataset we'll call "myDataSet".

I have created a TableAdapter, "UserInputsTableAdapter". I set the "main" SQL query to simply be (select * from UserInputs) and VS created Fill() and GetBy() methods for me.

I added a SQL query to the TableAdapter to pull the desired record.... (select * from UserInputs where username = @username and product = @product). This also created methods, which I named FillByUserAndProgram() and GetDataByUserAndProgram().

I pulled up the DataSet designer and from my TableAdapter dragged-n-dropped my fields onto their respective controls.

In my form_load I have:

VB.NET:
Private Sub Form1_Load(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles MyBase.Load

'...'

pUser = GetUserName

UserInputsTableAdapter.FillByUserAndProgram(myDataSet.UserInputs, pUser, cmbProduct.SelectedValue)

End Sub

I also have the same FillBy in the event handler for the combobox change...
VB.NET:
Private Sub cmbProduct_SelectedIndexChanged(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles cmbProduct.SelectedIndexChanged

UserInputsTableAdapter.FillByUserAndProgram(myDataSet.UserInputs, pUser, cmbProduct.SelectedValue)

End Sub