Filtering records

lsdev

Programming Experience
1-3
I have a table called Skill that look like this:
SKILL(MainSkil, SubSkill)
primary key is both (MainSkill, SubSkill)
The data held looks like:
IT,Support
IT, IT Manager
HR, Assistant
HR, Manager

And a Job table like;
JOB(JobID, Title)

A job can have multiple skills so I have a JobSkill table:
JOBSKILL(JOBID, MainSkill, SubSkill)
primary key is (JobID, MainSkill, SubSkill)

Now I have set up a windows form in that I have a master-detail relationship set up and it all works ace. My problem is that in the grid view part (JOBSKILL) I want the a combo box with a look up to mainSkill and sub skill. This again works but I get duplicate records, so basically clicking on main skill gives me:
IT,
IT,
HR,
HR,

Also to add to this I am gettin all the subskills not just those for the main skill selected? Is there a way of using filters such that the combo boxes for main skill are just those that are unique/distinct, and then have the sub skill combo box populated with the sub skills that match the main skill?
Is there a way of using filters to do this?
Any help is much appreciated, and I hope this makes sense

Regards

HI,
I think you should make an other DataTable with the MainSkill with "Select MainSkill From Skill Group By MainSkill" and set the ComboBox of the MainSkill to it. (This Should show only IT and HR) Now OR filter the Other DataTable on the SubSkill OR with a Relationship between MainSkill DataTable to SubSkill DataTable

Yeah I have been thinking about spliting the table but this would in effect mean maintaining more than one table, which I ideally do not want to do. I dont know of another way round this but surely there are methods in .net to fill data grid combo boxes with data from a query in some way? I just can't seem to find anything.

No, just make an other DataTable in the DataSet
You can also make it with Code

Dim queryString As String = _
"SELECT MainSkill From Skill Group By MainSkill"