Question Easy class scope question

gpgarber

Programming Experience
10+
Forgive me if this seems simple. I'm an old VB6 programmer new to OOP.

I have a class thus:
Public Class GetRandom
Public seed As Integer
Public BeenThereDoneThat As Boolean

Property pSeed() As Integer
Get
Return seed​
End Get
Set(ByVal xSeed As Integer)
seed = xSeed​
End Set​
End Property
Public Sub GetMeMyRndNums(ByRef x As Byte, ByRef y As Byte)
Dim randomclass
If Not BeenThereDoneThat Then
randomclass = New Random(pSeed)
BeenThereDoneThat = True​
End If

x = randomclass.Next(1, 4)
y = randomclass.Next(1, 4)​
End Sub

Public Sub New(ByVal ScreenSeed As Integer)
pSeed = CInt(ScreenSeed)
BeenThereDoneThat = False​
End Sub​
End Class

My parent form invokes method GetMeMyRndNums, but obviously the scope of randomclass is Disposed each time, and thus I do not have my Random(pseed) available. How can I "keep" randomclass within the scope of my parent form? I have thought about moving the class within the Form, but is there a better method.

Thanks,
Gary

Last edited:
Nesting the class in the form is irrelevant to the scope of a variable that refers to an object of that type.

I don't really see the point of that class at all anyway. Why can't you just use a Random object in your form as is? Just assign a Random object to a member variable in your form and then call its Next method when you need a number?

Regardless, if you want a variable to persist its value between method calls and/or access it in multiple methods then you declare it as a member, i.e. outside of all the methods, rather than a local, i.e. inside a method.

Easy class scope quest

Thank you for your reply. Actually, I used to have those methods inside of my form, but I found I needed the constructor to assign a seed value to my Random() class.