Drag and Drop Formatted Text to External Application

larkahn

Programming Experience
1-3
I have one RichTextBox with formatted text. I have drag and drop enabled so that I can drag the selected text if the right mouse button is down. The problem is that the formatting is not copied or moved with the text to an external application such as MS Word XP or WordPad. In particular, I want the text with the particular font that the RTF box is set for. All that happens now is that plain text is moved or copied. I don't want to have to reset the font manually after I transfer the text. I have Windows XP and MS Word XP. How can I have the formatted text dropped. If I changed Selected text to RTF, that simply copies the formatting codes. I'm not a programmer. Is there an easy way to modify the following code?

VB.NET:
If e.Button = MouseButtons.Right Then
RichTextBox1.DoDragDrop(RichTextBox1.SelectedText, DragDropEffects.Copy)
End If

example:
VB.NET:
Dim data_object As New DataObject
data_object.SetData(DataFormats.Rtf, rtb.SelectedRtf)
data_object.SetData(DataFormats.Text, rtb.SelectedText)
rtb.DoDragDrop(data_object, DragDropEffects.Copy)

Thank you. This works fine. One final question: Could you tell me how I would code my if statement so that the user has to press the Alt+left mouse key at the same time to initiate the drag?

You can keep track of your ALT key state with the KeyDown and KeyUp events, the info is in e.Alt parameter. You will also find out that KeyUp event isn't triggered if drag&drop occurs in the mean time.

Thanks again. your help is most appreciated. I placed the following code in the keydown event of the RTF Box. It seems to work but I'm wondering if this is the correct place and coding. In this case, there doesn't seem to be any need for coding the mouse button.

VB.NET:
If e.Alt = True Then
     Dim data_object As New DataObject()
     data_object.SetData(DataFormats.Rtf, RichTextBox1.Rtf)