Datagrids...help read textfile?

juggernot

Programming Experience
Beginner
I need to write a program that can read a textfile, and sort the information in the text into a datagrid. I'm fine with the reading and sorting of the text, but I'm having trouble with the datagrid. I've never used a datagrid before and do not know where to begin. I can't even seem to find a way to add coloumns or rows, let alone add my text. Can someone help me with this?

wha's the format of the text in the file?

for datagrids i find it best to build a dataset (which means using a datatable and datacolumns) then simply bind the datagrid to the new dataset

i can help with this, but first we need to establish what the data format is

I don't exactly know what you mean by format, but I'll give you some more information. For privacy reasons I can't give you the actual text, but I'll show you how it is organized. This is the information it has

Rank(short), Lastname(String), Firstname(String), School(String),Score(Short). (The period shows the end of this entry, the start of next one)

I don't exactly know how a datagrid works, but I was going to create a loop which would add the information to an array. I would probably create a class to store all the information for one entry, then continue looping and adding another class to the array. Then the information would be easy to access.

Hopefully I've given you enough information, in the meantime I'll continue trying to sort this out.

I wrote a class recently that uses regular expressions to translate textual information on the fly, into another form.

I use it for directly reading fixed-width files into a dataset. All you need to do is set up the correct regular expressions and you'll be able to read your file straight into a datatable too...

Usage is something like:

Dim rfrmr as New RegexFindReplaceMutatingReader
rfrmr.AddFindReplacePair(..., ...)

Dim ds a New DataSet
ds.ReadXml(rfrmr);