DataAdapter / Datagridview question.

dotolee

Programming Experience
10+
I have a question which might sound silly but I'm new to datagrids and data binding in vs 2005.
I have successfully created a datagridview which gets its data from a datatable / table adapter. The sql being executed in the fill method looks like this:

SELECT Contact.FName, Contact.LName, Contact.StreetNum, Street.Name AS Street, City.Name AS City, Contact.PostalCode,
Contact.PhoneNumber, Contact.ApartmentNum, Contact.DoNotCall, Contact.TerritoryID, Territory.Name
FROM Contact INNER JOIN
City ON Contact.CityID = City.CityID INNER JOIN
Street ON Contact.StreetID = Street.StreetID INNER JOIN
Territory ON Contact.TerritoryID = Territory.TerritoryID
WHERE (Territory.Name = @TerrName)​

The code to display the data in the grid looks like this:
Me.LookUpTerritoryByNameTableAdapter.Fill(Me._territor_eDataSet.LookUpTerritoryByName, txtTerritoryName.Text)​

I only want the user to be able to change the territory name. They must specify a name that already exists in the Territory table. The contacts table only has a FK to the Territory Table. How would i write the sql update method?

The code that I've written so far in vb for the SAVE button looks like this:

Private Sub Save_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles Save.Click
(Me._territor_eDataSet.LookUpTerritoryByName)
Dim table As DataTable
table = Me._territor_eDataSet.LookUpTerritoryByName.GetChanges
If (Not IsNothing(table)) Then
Me.LookUpTerritoryByNameTableAdapter.Update(table)
Me._territor_eDataSet.LookUpTerritoryByName.AcceptChanges()
End If
End Sub​

Please and thanks.

attempted solution....

So far, i've come up with the following SQL Update command:

UPDATE Contact
SET register= @reg, Moved = @Moved, TerritoryID = @territoryID
FROM Contact INNER JOIN
Territory ON Contact.TerritoryID = Territory.TerritoryID
WHERE (@territoryID IN
(SELECT TerritoryID
FROM Territory AS Territory_1))