changing panel image in runtime

Pozi

Programming Experience
Beginner
Yes I am a newb.

I am taking a into to VB 2005 class. Our latest project involves changing the a panel's background image with a button.

I can get the following code to work but only when I have the picture hard pathed to the directory. In runtime it does not find the image when the filename or any combination short of the entire path is listed.

panGraphics.BackgroundImage = Image.FromFile("E:\blah\blah\blah\bin\Debug\Graphics\Picture1.jpg")

panGraphics.BackgroundImage = Image.FromFile("\Picture1.jpg") 'DOES NOT WORK

Then the second part of my question is I want to use this btnChange as a click even to also change the text of a label. But when I try to setup an If statement it will not work.

If panGraphics.BackgroundImage = Image.FromFile(":/Picture1.jpg") Then
panGraphics.BackgroundImage = Image.FromFile("\Picture2.jpg")
lblInformation.text = ("#2")
ElseIf panGraphics.BackgroundImage = Image.FromFile(":/HauntedHouse.jpg") Then
panGraphics.BackgroundImage = Image.FromFile("\HauntedHouse.jpg")
lblInformation.text = ("#1")
End If

I know I am totally off but this is what I got right now and hopefully I can get steered in the right direction.

Ok, having just posted Ive realised what an old post this is :/ apologies for bumping it. I guess you never know, it might help someone *-)

You must always list the entire directory path, it needs to know exactly where to look. It's kind of like giving the Country and street name for someones address- you have no idea what Town/ City the street is in, and there is a chance there is more than one.

If you have multiple images from the same directory you could have a string variable holding the path and concatenate it with the file name:

VB.NET:
Dim path as String = "C:\Documents and Settings\User\My Documents"

panGraphics.BackgroundImage = Image.FromFile(path & "\picture1.jpg")