Best way for concurrent HTTP connections?

littlebigman

Programming Experience
Beginner
Hello

I need to download a bunch of pages from a web server, ie. spidering. I know that servers are typically configured to only allow a couple of concurrent connections from a given IP, but that would already halve the total time to run the script instead of downloading one page at a time.

At first sight, I guess there are two ways to do this:
- multi-threading
- non-blocking, async HTTP connections

Before I go ahead and investigate, has someone already done this and could share some code?

Thank you.

I've never done threading before. Here's some pseudo-code I thought of. Could someone experienced with this sort of thing tell me if I'm in the right direction, or I should do things very differently?

VB.NET:
Sub Main()
	Dim ItemsToDownload() as String
	Dim index as Integer
	Dim subindex as Integer

'------ 1. Get all web page ID's from DB
	ItemsToDowload = SQLite.Query("SELECT id FROM companies")

'------ 2. Take ten items at a time, and create ten threads each time
	For index = 0 to ItemsToDownload.Count-1 Step 10
		URL = "www.acme.com/search.php?id=" & ItemsToDownload(index)

'Launch ten threads to download web pages concurrently
		For subindex=0 to 9
			Dim t As Thread
			t = New Thread(AddressOf Me.BackgroundProcess)
			'How to pass item ID to thread?
			t.Start()
		Next subindex	

'Wait for ten threads to be done
	Next index

End Sub

'------ 3. Routine called by threads to download/parse web page, and save infos into DB
Private Sub BackgroundProcess(URL as String)
	Dim response as String

response = Download(URL)
	'use regex to extract information from web page
	'and update SQLite with infos
End Sub

Thank you for any hint.