Average Pace Calculator

junkie_ball

Programming Experience
1-3
Hi,

This is my first post here (of many i hope). I been dabbling with VB on and off for a few years now i started with VB6 and now using VB.Net. I'm trying to generate a simple average pace calculator. I have coded the calculator to a stage where it seems to work although on testing it i have noted my average pace rounding seems to vary slightly from others online. Although i have also note different calculators online seem to vary from each other.

I have used the .tostring("0.##") as a means of converting my calculation back to actual time rather than a decimal. Is this the correct method or is there a better way?

I have posted the code below. Please excuse it if the code is not as neat as it could be but like i start i'm still a novice.

VB.NET:
        Dim Hours, Mins, Secs As Integer
        Dim Distance, Pace As Decimal

Try
            Distance = CDec(txtDistance.Text)
            'Ensures all time fields have data
            If txtHrs.Text = "" Or txtMins.Text = "" Or txtSecs.Text = "" Then
                MsgBox("Please enter a time to calculate average pace from", MsgBoxStyle.Information, "Average Pace Calculator")
            Else
                Try
                    Hours = CInt(txtHrs.Text)
                    Mins = CInt(txtMins.Text)
                    Secs = CInt(txtSecs.Text)

If cmbDistanceUnit.Text = "Mile" Then
                        Pace = ((Hours * 60) + (Mins) + (Secs / 60)) / Distance
                        txtPace.Text = Pace.ToString("0.##") & " Per Mile"
                    ElseIf cmbDistanceUnit.Text = "Kilometer" Then
                        Pace = ((Hours * 60) + (Mins) + (Secs / 60)) / Distance
                        txtPace.Text = Pace.ToString("0.##") & " Per Kilometer"
                    Else
                        MsgBox("Please Select Kilometers or Miles", MsgBoxStyle.Information, "Average Pace Calculator")
                    End If