Auto-Update Feature

supermanzdead

Programming Experience
Beginner
I would like to add an auto update feature to a program that I have created that can go back to a share on the network and check for updates and update the exe or other files automaticlly before the program is launched, I am new to VB.net (been using kixtart and kixforms until now). Any help would be appreciated, thanks!

ClickOnce deployment has this capability built-in, and all versions of VS 2005 have clickOnce deployment built-in. You should be able to find plenty of information about ClickOnce on MSDN.

Oops, I just noticed that you're using VS.NET 2003. Are you considering the upgrade because it would make it a lot easier? VB Express is free, although it doesn't have all the features of the grown-up version.

To be honest I havent even looked at upgrading yet, I havent even read up on VS 2005 yet, I saw the express download though, will check it out as soon as I get a chance, will code written with VS 2005 work with .net framework 1.1?

supermanzdead said:
I saw the express download though, will check it out as soon as I get a chance
Just make sure you get it before Nov 7 or you'll have to pay.
supermanzdead said:
will code written with VS 2005 work with .net framework 1.1?
No it won't.

If you want to update your application then obviously you can't have the applciation do it itself. You could have your app check for the availability of updates and then start a new process to actually do the updating. You can then close your main app and have the update process restart it when done. That's very general but you get the idea. As for performing the updates, the System.Net namespace contains the types you'll want to use for connecting to a remote server and downloading files.

Most of the stuff I have done is pretty basic, I need to start getting into the more advanced stuff, I'd like to start working on this right away, can you point me into a direction that you would think could help me?