Assigning File Extensions and Using them

ImDaFrEaK

Programming Experience
5-10
Sorry to ask for alot but I am self taught and this information is hard to find. I need to assign a certain file extension to my application. When the user clicks on this file type it will run in my application. Further; I need to know how to use this information in my application. How do I tell my application to use the file chosen to be started with it?

I apologize if this is too much but any help would be great. This includes books, links, or examples. Thankyou so much:)

Is this not the same thing to override the method and to handle the event? The event is forced with the mybase.onstartup. I don't see how this really dampers my application. However; I do understand what your saying. Also, the startupnextinstance, thanks. I havn't tried it yet but that sounds exactly like what I am looking for. Thanks again so much :)

Repeat of before: sorry I double posted. And thanx for the advice to use the event rather than. It is much wiser but for my position it's not making a big difference so I am using the IDE and intellisense to make things easier and quicker. Plus then I don't have to write the handler adn such. This is all I will be doing with it so I can't get it screwed up too bad, :) hehe.

You don't have to write the handler anyway. Just like in a form you select the object from the drop-down list at the top left and the event you wish to handle from the list on the right. The empty event handler is created for you.

Ok, I see now. This is pretty neat. See I havn't learned anthing about partial classes and I am assuming you can do that b/c this is a partial class. Normally a class can't handle it's own events. Is this correct? I need to read some MS dosumentation on Partial Classes and what not from 2003 to 2005. I will prob do that now. Thanks again man :)

ImDaFrEaK said: