ArrayList within Custom Control dbnull exception

FreakBoy

Programming Experience
Beginner
Hi, I'm a fairly inexperienced programmer just working on a project to teach myself some concepts and I've hit a stumbling block I can't find a solution to in any of my books, or a few hours searching through forums and with Google.

I'm replicating a game I've seen before usually called, "Light Game" or something similar. The player is confronted with a grid of "lights" that are either all off or all on and their objective is to reverse this.

By clicking on one of the "lights" the "light" clicked on and all that are adjacent invert.

I spent a lot of time thinking about how to approach the problem and have decided it would be best to redefine a checkbox control that has a Collection property containing references to the adjacent controls.
I've done this so I can have one event handler for every checkbox.

My problem is in the Collection. When I attempt to add anything to the collection (currently an Arraylist) I get a dbnull exception.

I've pulled all of the code back out and tried it without using a custom control and my coding appears to work. Its just that when the collection is used within the control it appears that the collection never becomes anything but "nothing."

When you declare an ArrayList variable you are creating a place that an ArrayList can go, but you aren't creating an ArrayList. If you build a garage it doesn't mean that you have a car to drive. This code declares a variable that CAN refer to an ArrayList:
VB.NET:
Dim myArrayList As ArrayList
but there is no ArrayList object. This code declares the variable and then creates an ArrayList object and assigns it to that variable:
VB.NET:
Dim myArrayList As ArrayList

myArrayList = New ArrayList
it is the "New" keyword that invokes the ArrayList constructor which creates the new object. The following are also equivalent:
VB.NET:
Dim myArrayList As ArrayList = New ArrayList
VB.NET: