Array ordering

Programming Experience
1-3
Hi peeps,

Sorry for the newbie question but i am new to vb.net.
Can someone please tell me how to order an array

I have an array in this structure

--------------
7......-1......1
2......-1......2
10....-1......3
29....-3......4
12....-3......5
1......-3......6

how do i order this array by the 0 column

many thanks

Just the name of your array ... for instance

VB.NET:
 Dim myArray() AsInteger = {3, 5, 6, 1, 2, 0} 

Array.Sort(myArray)

MessageBox.Show(myArray(0) & ", " & myArray(1) & ", " & myArray(2) & ", " & myArray(3) & ", " & myArray(4) & ", " & myArray(5)) 
'result would be: 0, 1, 2, 3, 5, 6

or:

[size=2][color=#0000ff]For[/color][/size][size=2] i = 0 [/size][size=2][color=#0000ff]To[/color][/size][size=2] myArray.GetUpperBound(0)

MessageBox.Show(myArray(i))

[/size][size=2][color=#0000ff]Next

[/color][/size]

Cheers ;)

Sort multidimensional array

Wait a minute! If you are talking about Sorting Multi-dimensional Arrays then i must say that this method doesn't support that and if you try to pass a multidimensional array into Array.Sort method you will get an exception. That's because .NET Framework doesn't support the sorting of multidimensional arrays. Fortunately, there is a workaround.

The way to approach this problem is to turn a multidimensional array into a jagged array. A jagged array is basically an array of arrays. In other words, the array's element type is also of type array. The key advantage of jagged arrays over multidimensional arrays is that jagged arrays can dynamically scale to infinite dimensions, whereas multidimensional arrays are fixed in their rank, or number of dimensions.

VB.NET:
'a jagged array example
Dim arr1() As Integer = {1, 7}
Dim arr2() As Integer = {12, 25}
Dim arr3() As Integer = {4, 6}
Dim a()() As Integer = {arr1, arr2, arr3}