Adding Record to Database (lost)

RD Frame

Programming Experience
5-10
Hey guys,

I'm fairly new to VB.NET, but not development, and believe it or not, I've spent the past two days trying to get nothing more than a simple INSERT to work. I've already posted on a couple other forums, but never got the problem solved. Below is my entire Sub Main(), and any advice to what I'm doing wrong would be really, really appreciated right now. ;)

I manually inserted one record into the 'accounts' table, and it always shows up just fine, and stays in the table. When I run the following code, the extra two records are successfully inserted into the database and show up in the combo box as needed, but when I exit the application, those two records always disappear. Why aren't the records being saved / updated / commited?

Any help you could offer would be great. BTW... I know the code is messy, but I'm just trying to make it work for now, and will worry about cleaning it up later. Thanks guys.

VB.NET:
    Sub Main()

Dim accountAdapter As New AccountInfoDataSetTableAdapters.accountsTableAdapter
        accountAdapter.Insert("testing", 23, "developer", 1)

Dim accountDataSet As DataSet = New AccountInfoDataSet
        Dim newRow As DataRow = accountDataSet.Tables("accounts").NewRow()
        newRow("username") = "blah"
        newRow("account_id") = 235
        newRow("type") = "developer"
        newRow("default_account") = 1

accountDataSet.Tables("accounts").Rows.Add(newRow)
        accountDataSet.AcceptChanges()

'Try to update (doesn't work)
        'accountAdapter.Update(accountDataSet)

Dim newRows As DataTable = accountDataSet.Tables("accounts").GetChanges(Data.DataRowState.Added)
        accountAdapter.Update(newRows)

'Connect to the database
        AccountDBConnection.Open()

'Get needed info
        Dim SQLcmd As New SqlCommand("SELECT username,default_account FROM accounts", AccountDBConnection)
        Dim myReader As SqlDataReader = SQLcmd.ExecuteReader()