a different case of retrieving SQL DB data for login form

ssfftt

Programming Experience
1-3
[RESOLVED]a different case of retrieving SQL DB data for login form

hi all:I am using VB.NET 2003i have a login form that contains btnLogin, txtLoginName.Text and txtLoginPW.Textalso have a SQL database table contains 2 columns : user and pwon the login frm, i have visually setup SqlDataAdapterUserLogin, SqlConnectionUserLogin and DataSetUserLogin, dont know if the settings are all correct though.I know somehow when i trigger btnLogin.click, i need to check whether the inputs match up database record, and then i either give access to valid user or deny access. However, i have no idea how to implement this by code.because i am new to VB.NET, can anyone please be more specific on code while trying to help?thanks

Last edited:
You need to execute a query to see if there are any records that contain the supplied values in the correct fields. You don't need a Data Adapter but just a Command object. Depending on what you want to do you can either call ExecuteScalar or ExecuteReader on the Command. Here's an example if you want to use ExecuteScalar:
VB.NET:
Dim myCommand As New SqlCommand("SELECT COUNT(*) FROM Users WHERE UserID = @UserID AND Password = @Password", myConnection)

myCommand.Parameters.Add("@UserID", txtLoginName.Text)
 myCommand.Parameters.Add("@Password", txtLoginPW.Text)

myConnection.Open()

If CInt(myCommand.ExecuteScalar()) = 0 Then
    MessageBox.Show("Login failed.")
Else
    MessageBox.Show("Login successful")
End If

myConnection.Close()

thank you jmcilhinney

hi jmcilhinney, thanks for helping me out, however, I tried to implement the code, it didnt work, I know it must be my own problem.

firstly, i tried your way doing it all manually, then the system give error message: Type 'SqlCommand is not defined'.