Question A beginner's concerns about Windows Forms & Security

rajthampi

Programming Experience
Beginner
Hi guys

I am a seasoned Oracle developer, forced to start developing Windows forms against MS SQL server as my firm is planning to implement Microsoft Dynamics AX suite. I know bit of how to use the Vistual Studio IDE and how to hook up the tables using textboxes and by using DataSets

My friends in the field of .Net development are trying to discourage me from using DataSets, instead asking me to fill the textbox columns using SQL within the scripting part, that looks cumbersome as most of the applications what we will port from Oracle ERP, the tables associated are having more than 100 columns and each form may have a minimum of 30-40 columns displaying various information.
I request the experts to point me towards the concerns raised by my peers.

Thanks in advance!

regards,

raj

fill the textbox columns using SQL within the scripting part

I don't really know what that means but I can only think of two possibilities and they're both pretty much irrelevant.

1. You are using the Data Source Wizard to generate a typed DataSet and your friends are recommending that you use an untyped DataSet with inline SQL. They're not helping you in that case. There's no net advantage to using an untyped DataSet over a typed DataSet. It does mean that you have more obvious fine control over some of the details but, more often than not, you don't need that fine control. Using a typed DataSet means writing far less code for the majority of scenarios and that's a big plus. For situations where you need finer control, you simply don't accept the defaults and make some manual changes, which far too many people don't even seem to realise is possible. In the very rare situations where a typed DataSet just won't cut, simply use an untyped DataSet for those situations specifically. There's no rule that you can't mix and match where it's advantageous to do so.