VS Version Question

bones

Programming Experience
Beginner
I ran into something unexpected on two levels and seek some advice from experienced VS programmers before to make an informed decision.

My partner and I are developing a VB2010 app with the Express version. He's doing he hardware interface portion because that's what he does. A problem surfaced with one of his other apps [not related to our joint project] where the application won't run on some Win7 systems. He emailed me stating that we will need to upgrade to VB2012 or 13 for our app to be assured it will not experience the same issues.

I'm new to VB...started with it in August of 2014 and am slowly progressing.

Researching the won't run on some Win 7 systems led me to some answers that must first be explored regarding .net framework...installed...correct version...etc. That WILL BE DONE FIRST.

BUT... I also found an article about newer releases of VS that stopped me dead in my tracks. What I think I'm understanding is that Versions newer than VB2010 Express can't be used to develop Windows Forms apps... Is that correct?

Or is that only the case if developing in C++? [we're working in VB]
Article No-cost desktop software development is dead on Windows 8 | Ars Technica

Last edited:
Hi,

I got bored really quickly when reading that link that you posted since it’s a load of rubbish and is just the ramblings of some Visual Studio hater I guess.

Have a look at these:-

Download Microsoft Visual Studio Express 2012 for Windows Desktop from Official Microsoft Download Center
Download Overview

I use VS2013 Professional on a daily basis to write my Business Desktop Applications and I use VS2013 Express at home, since its free, to play on the Forums and do other bits and pieces.

I have also just started to trial VS2015 Preview on a Virtual Machine at home to see how that differs for the forthcoming future and all seems the same so far from a Windows Forms Development point of view.

Hope that helps.