variable assignment vs reference

alishahak

Programming Experience
Beginner
I am quite new to VB.net programming. I am currently dealing with a problem which I hope someone can help me solve...

In my code, I have created a class that includes several public variables, like integers and strings, etc. I assign different values to them throughout the code. However, I don't seem to be able to create a second copy of this object variable by simply using the equal sign, i.e.:

ClassVariable2 = ClassVariable1

It appears to me that the above operation creates a reference to ClassVariable1, since changing it will also change ClassVariable2. What am I missing in my code? I have also made sure that I instantiate ClassVariable2 with New keyword before assignment...

any suggestions will be highly appreaciated.

A.

When you do object to object assignment like that... yes, it'll simply set a reference to the first. To get a copy, you have to instanciate the second instance, then copy the properties over one by one. OR... if it's a class that you have control over, you can implement a Copy method that returns a new instance of the class (it will also have to copy the properties, but you would only need to do it once.)

-tg

or make a constructor that initializes all the parameters (if they are needed for operation of the class then the constructor should do this anyway. the constructor is intended that no instance of a class be possible whereby it is useless after construction because further parameters need setting) and then make a new class with the constructor. if you want to use parameters of class 1 then then is possible. do bear in mind that any parameters that are not primitive types will be passed by reference:

Dim myClass2 as Class2 = New Class2(myClass1.StringArg, myClass1.IntArg)

'here we now have a myClass2 with its own int but sharing a reference to the same string