using Visual Studio for Windows to develop applications for MacOS

awesim

Programming Experience
3-5
hello everyone..

i need to develop an application that will be running on a MacOS.. but i have no prior experience on these systems.. ive worked on visual studio 2000 for quite a long time.. but ive heard that visual studio 2003 allows developing cross-platform applications.. is this a solution to my problem? if so, can anyone help me better understand what i would need to do? if not, i would appreciate if i were shown an alternate path..

here's what i need to do..

an application that would be reading and saving files on the hard disk.. the development platform HAS to be windows.. the deployment platform IS going to be MacOS..

thanks a million..

asim sohail

.Net Framework only supports Windows platform. What you heard about cross-platform was C++ unmanaged.

i thought .Net programs could run on any platform provided the Framework's installed (like Mono for Linux)

Mono doesn't support all features that the .NET Framework supports. If Mono can execute assemblies compiled in VS (I'm not sure if it can I and I couldn't find anything definitive in a quick search of their site) then there is certainly no guarantee that it will support all the features used in the original code. If you want to write apps for Mono then you should use Mono tools.

hmmm.. i tried a search for mono and visual studio.. i got a promising link.. http://mac.sillydog.org/dev/visual_studio.php.. tell me what you guys think about it..

what i understand about this link so far is.. that you use dot net to create an executable.. but when you need to run that executable on a mac system, you use the mono support environment..

ive heard that java is truly platform independant.. if that is so.. doesnt it mean that visual studio j# applications too will be able to run on any platform? what does dot net being platform independant actually mean?