Using a btn control from a master page to fire a content page procedure

ckeezer

Programming Experience
1-3
Long title... sorry about that.

Here is what I need to do. I have a master page with several buttons on it (btn1-3). I have a content page that has three fields on it.

I need to fire a btn_click event when btn1 is clicked on the content page... how do I do that?

Here is some of my code this far:

Master Page:
HTML:
<asp:ButtonID="btn1"runat="server"Text="page1"OnClick="btn1"PostBackUrl="~/page1.aspx"/>
<asp:ButtonID="btn2"runat="server"Text="page2"OnClick="btn2"PostBackUrl="~/page2.aspx"/>
<asp:ButtonID="btn3"runat="server"Text="page3"OnClick="btn3"PostBackUrl="~/page3.aspx"/>
Content Page:
VB.NET:
ProtectedSub btn1()
Session.Add("Name", txtName.Text)
Session.Add("Major", txtMajor.Text)
Session.Add("Email", txtEmail.Text)
EndSub
ProtectedSub btn2_Click()
EndSub
ProtectedSub btn3()
EndSub

I keeping getting the following error:
Error 1 'btn1' is not a member of 'ASP.students_master'. D:\Documents and Settings\ckeezer\My Documents\Visual Studio 2005\WebSites\testsite\test.master 15

Last edited by a moderator:
Read the "Accessing Members on the Master Page" paragraph in article Working with ASP.NET Master Pages Programmatically.

First add the MasterType directive to contentpage. Then you can find the masterpage button control and add event handler from contentpage with the AddHandler statement. Here is the code in contentpage to do this:
VB.NET:
[SIZE=2][COLOR=#0000ff]Protected [/COLOR][/SIZE][SIZE=2][COLOR=#0000ff]Sub[/COLOR][/SIZE][SIZE=2] Page_Load([/SIZE][SIZE=2][COLOR=#0000ff]ByVal[/COLOR][/SIZE][SIZE=2] sender [/SIZE][SIZE=2][COLOR=#0000ff]As [/COLOR][/SIZE][SIZE=2][COLOR=#0000ff]Object[/COLOR][/SIZE][SIZE=2], [/SIZE][SIZE=2][COLOR=#0000ff]ByVal[/COLOR][/SIZE][SIZE=2] e [/SIZE][SIZE=2][COLOR=#0000ff]As[/COLOR][/SIZE][SIZE=2] System.EventArgs)[/SIZE]