Question Trying to make an MsAccess connection function

manny_gt

Programming Experience
10+
Hello,
Just registered here so hi to all! :)

I want to (re)create a connection function for MsAccess.
I'm a ASP programmer too and this is my old function:

VB.NET:
function Connettore_NG(mdb,SQL)

dim NG_Connessione, stringa_connessione, NG_rs, file_fisico
    file_fisico = server.MapPath(cartella_mdb & mdb & ".mdb")
    Set NG_Connessione = Server.CreateObject("ADODB.Connection") 
    stringa_connessione ="driver={Microsoft Access Driver (*.mdb)}; DBQ=" & file_fisico
    NG_Connessione.Open stringa_connessione
    Set NG_rs = Server.CreateObject("ADODB.Recordset")
    NG_rs.Open SQL, NG_Connessione ,3,3
    set Connettore_NG = NG_RS
    set NG_Connessione = Nothing

end function

With that function, in ASP, I can use correctly the addnew(), delete() and update() correctly.
Here an example:
VB.NET:
set rs = connettore_NG("fileaccess","select * from table1")

rs.addnew
rs("field1") = "hi folks"
rs("field2") = "regards"
rs.update

I've tried to modify my function for vb.net
VB.NET:
Public Function Connettore_NG(mdb, SQL)

Dim NG_Connessione, stringa_connessione, NG_rs

NG_Connessione = CreateObject("ADODB.Connection")

stringa_connessione = "driver={Microsoft Access Driver (*.mdb)}; DBQ=" & mdb
        NG_Connessione.Open(stringa_connessione)
        NG_rs = CreateObject("ADODB.Recordset")
        NG_rs.Open(SQL, NG_Connessione, 3, 3)
        Connettore_NG = NG_rs
        NG_Connessione = Nothing
End Function

With that function for vb.net I can write records correctly, but if I want to reads records, I got an error for ArgumentException.

Please can you help me?

Thank you very much.

Bad, bad, bad. You're using VB.NET now so you should be using ADO.NET. If you want to execute query in a function and return the result set it should look like this:
Private Function GetDataTable(dataFilePath As String, sqlQuery As String) As DataTable