Trying to do a trick with FileStreams - making a file look a few bytes shorter

ikantspelwurdz

Programming Experience
1-3
I'm not an expert on how stream's work in .NET. I have a file that is basically a 7z archive, except the first 667 bytes are in XML. 7zip.exe itself can extract this file just fine.

I am trying to read it using a freeware library called "SharpCompress." It chokes when reading this file. I thought that I could trick it by opening a FileStream to the file, and setting the position ahead to 667. Unfortunately, this did not work. In looking at the SharpCompress library, I found out why - here is a function in the SevenZipArchive class (it's in C#, apologies):
VB.NET:
        private void LoadFactory(Stream stream)
        {
            if (factory == null)
            {
                stream.Position = 0;
                factory = new SevenZipHeaderFactory(stream);
            }
        }

What I think I want to do is have a stream that starts reading at the file's 667 position, stops reading at the end, but reports its Position as 0 and its Length as 667 bytes less than what the file actually is. The object itself should not have access to the entire file - just the array of bytes I want from the file.

Is this possible? I'm not completely familiar with how Streams work, but it seems to me like this should be possible.

That LoadFactory method accepts any Stream so you can transfer only the data you want to a MemoryStream first, e.g.
Dim fileContents = File.ReadAllBytes("file path here")
Dim startPosition = 667

Using ms As New MemoryStream(fileContents, startPosition, fileContents.Length - startPosition)
    'Pass ms to LoadFactory here.
End Using

The files can be several gigabytes in size. Loading it all into memory isn't going to work - the stream chaining needs to be "lazy."