Transfering a textbox value to an EventHandler Process

Keags

Programming Experience
Beginner
Good day,

I am a complete newbie to VB.NET and have been plugging around with a few ideas for a tool.

I am using Visual Studio express 2008 to load a form, perform a task at a given interval.
My problem is:

1) I am able to populate a textbox with the desired text (a pathname);
2) I can get the timer event to work perfectly;
3) The problem arises when the timer conditions are met and I need to perform a task based on the value of the text box.
4) The value from the textbox becomes lost and when i hold my mouse cursor over the textbox:

I get an error:
"An exception 'Microsoft.VisualStudio.Debugger.Runtime.CrossThreadMessagingException' occurred"
and it is tracked to:
StackTrace = " at Microsoft.VisualStudio.Debugger.Runtime.Main.ThrowCrossThreadMessageException(String formatString) at System.Windows.Forms.SafeNativeMethods.GetWindowTextLength(HandleRef hWnd) at System.Windows.Forms.Control.get_WindowText() at System.Windo...

The script doesnt stop it just keeps running but doesnt do anything.
Being VERY unfamiliar with this type of work
I am stumped.

Any help / advice will be greatly appreciated!
On a side note, the script runs perfectly when i hard code in the pathname, but this doesnt suit the work i would like this script to do.

Thank you!

It is hard to figure it out without the code, but it seems the problem is related to the place where the timer is instantiated, and its event is handled, whether from your form or your timer, for they might be running in different threads. Perhaps if you try to create a new timer inside your form's class (ie Private WithEvents MyTimer as Timer on Form's declarations, and MyTimer = New Timer etc. on your routine when you want to start it up) and an event handler sub for the tick also in your form's class, the you might avoid these threading issues. Hope it helps. Kind regards!

Hi,

Thank you for your response.